*Para español, por favor haga clic aquí.
The Board of Nursing provides the following information to assist individuals from Puerto Rico who are seeking to work in Florida:
Florida law allows the following steps toward expediting the licensure process:
- $110 fee
- LiveScan for criminal background results https://www.flhealthsource.gov/background-screening – (licensure by this expedited method is not allowed if there is a criminal history.)
- Demonstrate he/she has actively practiced for 2 of the 3 preceding years with no discipline
- Request the Puerto Rico Board of Nursing send Florida Board of Nursing verification of their licensure status; Board staff will also attempt to verify directly with Puerto Rican regulatory officials
- Written verification of current employment on official agency letterhead. If unable to obtain verification due to the circumstances in Puerto Rico, the applicant may submit documentation to demonstrate work for 2 of the past 3 years by alternative means. Board staff will review that information as part of the applicant’s file.
- If licensed via this expedited route, applicant must complete a Florida laws and rules course approved by the Board within 6 months
- Apply via https://floridasnursing.gov/licensing
- If the applicant doesn’t have the work experience for endorsement, they would apply via examination to take the NCLEX (national licensure examination)
(RN and LPN Licensure by Endorsement – expedited route in Nurse Practice Act; Section 464.009(1)(c), FS)
Additional information from Section 464.022, FS:
Any nurse currently licensed in another state or territory of the United States is authorized to perform nursing services in Florida for a period of 60 days after furnishing to an employer satisfactory evidence of current licensure in another state or territory and having submitted proper application and fees to the Board of Nursing for licensure prior to employment. If the nurse licensed in another state or territory is relocating to this state pursuant to his or her military-connected spouse’s official military orders, this period shall be 120 days after furnishing to the employer satisfactory evidence of current licensure in another state or territory and having submitted proper application and fees to the board for licensure prior to employment. The board may extend this time for administrative purposes when necessary.