Fingerprint Retention Requirements

Posted in Latest News on September 27, 2017.

Individuals who submitted fingerprints as a condition of licensure on or after Jan. 1, 2013, are required to have their fingerprints retained in Florida’s Care Provider Background Screening Clearinghouse (Clearinghouse). Fingerprints stored in the Clearinghouse are retained for a period of five years from the date of submission.

The Clearinghouse is a single data source used to retain background screening results of persons required to be screened by law. The Clearinghouse allows the results of criminal history checks to be shared among participating agencies when a person has applied to volunteer, be employed, be licensed, or enters into a contract that requires a state and national fingerprint-based criminal history check. Section 435.12, Florida Statutes.

Section 456.0135, Florida Statutes, requires the cost of fingerprint processing, including the cost of retained fingerprints, to be paid by the applicant/licensee who is the subject of background screening. The retained print fee of $42.00 is due every five years. If your retained prints are not renewed prior to the expiration date, they will not be retained in the Clearinghouse, and you will be required to be fingerprinted again.

The Department will notify licensees prior to their expiration date to renew their enrollment in the Clearinghouse. The notification will contain instructions on how to renew your enrollment and pay the retained print fee.

For more information, please visit the Department’s website at https://www.flhealthsource.gov/background-screening and click on the Livescan Service Providers tab.



More Latest News

Reframing the future of health care for underserved Floridians
February 1, 2024

Need assistance with repaying your student loans? FRAME participants may receive up to $15,000 annually for service in Florida’s underserved communities. Continue reading


Announcement: New Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) Rule
January 11, 2024

As of January 2, 2024, a new NLC rule is in effect.  Nurses relocating to another Compact state now have 60 days from the time they move to apply for a license by endorsement in the new primary state of … Continue reading