Florida Administrative Code: Rule 64B9-5.013

Posted in Latest News on April 25, 2013.

The Florida Board of Nursing proposed a new rule to incorporate a requirement of continuing education on the laws and rules that govern the practice of nursing in Florida for Licensed Practical Nurses, Registered Nurses, Clinical Nurse Specialists and Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioners. Rule 64B9-5.013 became effective April 21, 2013.

Beginning with the biennium ending in 2015, each nursing licensee must complete a two hour course on the laws and rules that govern the practice of nursing in Florida. To receive Board approval, each course must include content on Chapters 456 and 464 of the Florida Statutes and the rules in Title 64B9 of the Florida Administrative Code. Courses must be taken from a CE provider approved by the Board of Nursing or a course otherwise authorized by board rule.



More Latest News

Reframing the future of health care for underserved Floridians
February 1, 2024

Need assistance with repaying your student loans? FRAME participants may receive up to $15,000 annually for service in Florida’s underserved communities. Continue reading


Announcement: New Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) Rule
January 11, 2024

As of January 2, 2024, a new NLC rule is in effect.  Nurses relocating to another Compact state now have 60 days from the time they move to apply for a license by endorsement in the new primary state of … Continue reading