Public Health Emergency License Reactivation

Posted in Latest News on April 13, 2020.

In an effort to ensure that all Floridians have access to licensed health care providers the Florida Department of Health will temporarily reactivate unencumbered inactive licenses for those who make a request through the Department as provided for in section 381.00315(1)(c)3., Florida Statutes.

Inactive medical doctors, osteopathic physicians, physician assistants, licensed practical nurses, registered nurses, advanced practice registered nurses, respiratory therapist, emergency medical technicians, and paramedics will have the option to temporarily reactive their inactive license for a period of 90 days to assist during the public health emergency due to COVID-19.

A license that is reactivated under this provision will return to inactive status when the public health emergency ends or before the end of the public health emergency if the State Surgeon General determines that the health care practitioner is no longer needed.

The Department stands ready to assist our health care providers in responding to this pandemic. We appreciate all practitioners who want to help protect the citizens of Florida and serve during this emergency.

To temporarily reactivate an inactive license, log into MQA Online Services Portal and follow the user guide. Once reactivated, the License Verification website will display “Public Health Emergency Active” for a period not to exceed 90 days.



More Latest News

The official publication of the Florida Board of Nursing
July 15, 2020

The purpose of this journal is to keep the nursing community in Florida abreast of important regulatory updates, licensing/renewal information… Continue reading


System Maintenance Notice
July 14, 2020

Please be aware of system maintenance beginning Friday, July 24th at 6:30PM EST until Monday, July 27 at 6:00AM EST. Click here for more information. Continue reading




Need to Verify a License?

To verify a Nurse Licensure Compact Multi-State RN or LPN License:
Access https://www.nursys.com and click on "Look up License".

 

To proceed to the DOH License Verification page (information on Florida licensees only), click here.