Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Licensed Practical Nurse & Registered Nurse Multistate Upgrade.
For a multistate upgrade to a current Clear, Active license, the requirements are as follows and can be found in Section 464.0095, F.S. and include:
- You must hold a Clear, Active, Florida license.
- You must declare Florida your primary state of residency. (Primary state of residence as defined by the Compact means the person’s declared fixed, permanent, and principle home for legal purposes; domicile.) Proof of residence may include one of the following: driver’s license, voter registration card, federal income tax return, or a W2.
- Your license status must be unencumbered (“Encumbrance” means a revocation or suspension of, or any limitation on, the full and unrestricted practice of nursing imposed by a licensing board.)
- Livescan results must be submitted no more than 90 days prior to the submission of the application and fees or anytime within a year of applying.
- You must not have a felony conviction.
- You must not have a misdemeanor related to the practice of nursing.
- You must not be enrolled with IPN or any other treatment program for the impaired.
- You must have a social security number.
- You must have passed the NCLEX.
- Foreign education must be evaluated by an independent credentials review agency.
- Foreign education not completed in English will require an English Competency exam.
Applications are valid for 1 year. After that time, the application will be expired if not approved. Once an application is expired a new paper application may be submitted. PDF versions of applications can be found at https://floridasnursing.gov/resources/.
Applicants for initial licensure must use a Livescan service provider to have their fingerprints submitted electronically to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) for conducting a search for any Florida and national criminal history records that may pertain to the applicant. The results will be returned to the Care Provider Background Screening Clearinghouse (Clearinghouse) and made available to the board office for consideration during the licensure process. The Livescan fingerprints submitted by the applicant will be retained by FDLE and the Clearinghouse. All costs for conducting a criminal history background screening are borne by the applicant. The Board of Nursing is no longer authorized by law to accept hard fingerprint cards or results from the applicant. All results must be submitted electronically from a Livescan service provider.
It is important to use the correct Originating Agency Identification (ORI) when submitting fingerprints. If you do not provide an ORI number or if you provide an incorrect ORI number to the service provider, the board office will not receive your fingerprint results. The ORI for the Board of Nursing is: EDOH4420Z.
Applicants who reside outside of the State of Florida must have their prints taken on a hard fingerprint card and contact an approved Livescan service provider who converts cards.
Applicants can use any FDLE approved Livescan service provider to submit their fingerprints. The applicant is fully responsible for selecting the service provider and ensuring the results are reported to the board office. For more information, FAQs, and a list of all approved Livescan service providers please visit the Background Screening website and click on the Livescan Service Providers tab. Please take the Nursing Electronic Fingerprint Form with you to the Livescan provider. Please check the service provider’s requirements to see if you need to bring any additional items. Please verify the ORI number submitted by the Livescan service provider matches the information provided by the Florida Board of Nursing.
Applicants with Criminal History
Any applicant who has ever been found guilty of or pled guilty or no contest/nolo contendere to any charge other than a minor traffic offense must list each offense on the application. Failure to disclose criminal history may result in denial of your application. Each application is reviewed on its own merits.
*Please note: Per Section 464.0095, F.S., applicants who have a Felony conviction (regardless of adjudication), do not qualify for a Multistate License in any compact jurisdiction.
Board staff cannot make eligibility determinations in advance as laws and rules do change over time. Violent crimes and repeat offenders are required to be presented to the Board of Nursing for review. Evidence of rehabilitation is important to the Board Members when making licensure decisions.
Applicants with prior criminal convictions may be required to submit the following documentation to the Board:
Final Dispositions/Arrest Records – Final disposition records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, you must have a letter on court letterhead sent from the Clerk of the Court attesting to their unavailability. Arrest records would be obtained by the arresting agency (Sherriff’s Office, Police Department, etc.)
Completion of Probation/Parole/Sanctions – Probation and financial sanction records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. Parole records for offenses can be obtained from the Department of Corrections or at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, you must have a letter on court letterhead sent from the clerk of the court attesting to their unavailability.
Self-Explanation – Applicants who have listed offenses on the application must submit a letter in your own words describing the circumstances of the offense.
Letters of Recommendation – Applicants who have listed offenses on the application must submit 3-5 professional letters of recommendation from people you have worked for or with.
All applications are reviewed for completeness within 30 days of receipt of the application and fees.
- Applicant must submit application with the appropriate fees to the Board of Nursing.
- Applicant schedules an electronic fingerprint appointment with a Livescan service provider and is fingerprinted.
- Once all materials are submitted, an application specialist will review them. It may be necessary for the application specialist to request additional information.
- When all requirements are met the multistate upgrade will be added to the current Florida license.
$100.00 Application and Licensing Fee to the Board of Nursing
Fee varies for Livescan Service Provider
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Chapter 464, Part I: Nursing
Chapter 456: Health Professions and Occupations: General Provisions
Florida Administrative Codes
Chapter 64B9: Board of Nursing