Nursing FAQs


Nursing FAQs

Expand allClose all

Does the Florida Board of Nursing maintain of list of approved ARNP programs?

The Florida Board of Nursing does not complete a primary source verification of education for all of its Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioners (ARNP).

We do not maintain a list of “approved” ARNP programs.

Florida ARNP applicants are required to hold an RN license, a master’s degree or post-master’s certificate in a nursing clinical specialty area and national advanced practice certification from an approved nursing specialty board. The certification requirements for all the Board approved certifying bodies mirror the licensure requirements for Florida. Therefore, we only require proof of the applicant’s national certification and an official transcript.

Rule 64B9-4.002(3), F.A.C., provides the professional or national nursing specialty boards recognized by the Board. You may find the full rule on the web at: www.flrules.org

Please visit your prospective certifying body’s website, i.e. the ANCC, for additional information regarding ARNP certification eligibility requirements. www.nursecredentialing.org

Generally, certifying bodies require a program to be accredited by CCNE or ACEN (formerly NLNAC) and to include advanced pathophysiology, advanced health assessment, and advanced pharmacology, a minimum of 500 faculty-supervised clinical hours, and content in health promotion and disease management.

How do I find CE courses on CEBroker.com?

Please review this tutorial for instructions on navigating the CEBroker website.

Can I use my specialty nursing certification to fulfill the continuing education requirements to renew my license?

A nurse who is certified by a health care specialty program accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies or the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification is exempt from continuing education requirements.

Advanced registered nurse practitioners certified under s. 464.012 must complete at least 3 hours of continuing education on the safe and effective prescription of controlled substances. The 3 hour course is not included in the exemption.

What can I do to determine if a nursing task which includes procedures/treatments is within my scope of practice?

Nurses have the option of filing a “Petition for Declaratory Statement”.
In many instances nursing duties and responsibilities are not specifically addressed in the Florida Nurse Practice Act (Chapter 464, FS), or the Rules of the Florida Board of Nursing (Title 64B9, Florida Administrative Codes)

Declaratory statements are an agency’s opinion as to the applicability of a statutory provision, or of any rule or order of the agency, as it applies to the petitioner’s particular set of circumstances (s. 120.565, F.S.). This page is a listing of declaratory statements.

Requests to file a “Petition for Declaratory Statement” can be located by selecting the link below:

http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-regulation/public-records/declaratory/index.html

Can hours earned from a CPR course be applied to the 24 hour continuing education requirement for licensure renewal?

Hours earned after the completion of a Basic Life Support (BLS) course or an Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) recertification course can’t be applied towards the 24 hour continuing education requirement for purposes of licensure renewal.

The Florida Board of Nursing adopted the position of the ANCC, effective as of June 1, 2011.

The following courses ceased to offer continuing education renewal credit as of June 1, 2011:

  • CPR/AED certification and re-certification courses, Basic Life Support (BLS) certification and re-certification courses, Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) re-certification courses
  • Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) re-certification courses, and Neonatal Resuscitation Program (NRP) re-certification courses

Continuing education renewal credit will still be permitted for the following:

  • Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certification courses, Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) certification courses, and Neonatal Resuscitation Program (NRP) certification courses

The ANCC disseminated the rationale in August 2009:

  • BLS is no longer an augment to the nurse’s basic knowledge. Therefore it doesn’t meet the definition of continuing nursing education. Universities now require the student to be certified in BLS before ever entering the academic program. BLS is not an augmentation of knowledge; it is a basic preparation for training.

The advanced life support activities meet the definition of CNE because they are not included in the nurse’s basic training and therefore augment that training.

Why must I pay a $5.00 unlicensed activity fee to obtain a license or renew my license?

The $5 unlicensed activity fee is required by Section 456.065, Florida Statutes, and is used by the Department of Health to fund efforts to combat unlicensed activity. All licensees pay a $5 unlicensed activity fee as part of their initial license fee and license renewal fees.

 

Why must I pay a $5.00 student loan forgiveness fee to obtain a license or renew my license?

The Florida Legislature established the Nursing Student Loan Forgiveness Program (NSLFP) in 1989 to encourage qualified personnel to seek employment in areas of the state where critical nursing shortages exist. The program provides funds to assist in the repayment of nursing education loans. All nursing licensees pay this $5.00 fee as part of their initial license fee and license renewal fees.

What is the process for acquiring a DEA registration number from the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA)?

To apply for a registration number or for registration support, please visit the DEA Office of Diversion Control website at: http://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/index.html

Registration numbers are linked to state licenses and may be suspended or revoked upon any disciplinary action taken against a licensee.

If I do not have an active license in another state, do I qualify for licensure by endorsement?

Have you ever taken the NCLEX or State Board Test Pool Exam? If you have, you may qualify for endorsement. Please review the Qualifications for endorsement or more information.

How long does it take to be approved for licensure by endorsement?

There is no set timeframe for approval of an application. We process applications in date order received. Applications are processed as quickly as possible, but timeframes vary based on the number of applications received and on the length of time it takes receive all necessary documentation.

What is endorsement; is it the same as reciprocity?

Endorsement is using your active license in another state, or board approved exam scores, to obtain a license in Florida. It is not the same as reciprocity. Reciprocity indicates Florida honors other state licenses and you would be allowed to work in Florida without obtaining a Florida License. Currently Florida law does not allow LPNs, RNs, CNS’s or ARNPs to work in Florida without a Florida license.

Can I endorse into Florida if I have an active license in another state but have never taken the NCLEX or State Board Test Pool exam?

If you can obtain verification you have been working in another state, jurisdiction or U.S. territory for two of the last three years you may apply by endorsement.

Who is responsible for requesting verification of my licenses? Does the board request it or do I?

You as the applicant are responsible for requesting licensure verification. The license verification form included in the application is intended to be mailed to states that do not verify licenses through www.Nursys.com (electronic verification).

All other applicants seeking verifications/certifications from U.S. states or territories outside the Nursys system should complete Part I of the form and submit the form to the appropriate state or territory for completion. Check with the appropriate Board to see if they charge a fee for this service.

Where do I find information about the fingerprinting process?

Information about the electronic fingerprinting process can be found at our Background Screening page.

Where can I find the application for ARNP?

You can find the application on the Resources page. You can also click here to download the PDF.

Do I get two separate licenses; one for my RN license and one for my ARNP?

No. In Florida the ARNP certification is an upgrade of the RN license resulting in only one license that is both an RN and an ARNP license.

Are there different applications for Florida RNs upgrading to ARNP and ARNPs from other states?

No. The application is the same. You can find the application on the Resources page. You can also click here to download the PDF.

How long will it take to get my license?

There is no set timeframe for approval of an application. We process applications in date order received. Applications are processed as quickly as possible, but timeframes vary based on the number of applications received and on the length of time it takes receive all necessary documentation.

What qualifications must I have completed to qualify as an ARNP?

Effective July 1, 2006, all specialties of Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner applying for licensure in Florida must provide proof of National Certification.

Exception: A one year provisional license may be issued to Certified Nurse Midwives and Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists who have graduated within one year from the date of application and who are not Nationally Certified. Applicants wishing to receive the provisional license must have their educational facility complete and send in an original Verification of Successful Completion (VSC) and original transcript(s).

Do I need malpractice insurance to be licensed?

ARNPs practicing in Florida are required to be covered by malpractice insurance unless they qualify for an exemption listed on the Financial Responsibility Form.

The Financial Responsibility form must be completed and filed with the board office before ARNP certification is granted. This form is included in the initial application and is also available separately on the Resources page.

Do I need National Certification?

Yes. Effective July 1, 2006, all specialties of Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner applying for licensure in Florida must provide proof of National Certification.

How do I submit proof of National Certification?

The national certifying body can submit proof of your certification directly to the board. Applicants may also submit proof by sending in a notarized copy of their certification.

What national nursing specialty certification boards are recognized by the Florida Board of Nursing?

Rule 64B9-4.002(3), F.A.C., provides the professional or national nursing specialty
boards recognized by the Board. You can find the full rule on the web at: https://www.flrules.org/gateway/Organization.asp?OrgNo=64B9

Advanced registered nurse practitioners certified under s. 464.012 must complete at least 3 hours of continuing education on the safe and effective prescription of controlled substances. The 3 hour course is not included in the exemption.

What type of information should be included on the prescription pad?

Pharmacy rules require that all the information necessary to properly label the prescription container be included on the prescription. The pharmacist is required to put the prescriber’s name on the medication label.

Do I need a dispensing license?

If it is in your protocols that you are to dispense medications for a fee, you must contact the Board office to be authorized to dispense. Dispensing is writing and filling a prescription and selling the medication to a patient. Giving samples is not dispensing. The dispensing license must also be renewed when renewing your ARNP license. – Dispensing Practitioner Application.

Do all nurse practitioners need to file protocols?

ARNPs practicing in Florida are required to file a protocol with the board office within thirty days of the initiation of practice or change to an existing protocol.

ARNPs with Florida licenses that are serving in the military and practicing in federal institutions in and outside of Florida are not required to file a protocol.

When is a protocol required to be sent to the Florida Board of Nursing?

An original protocol needs to be filed with the board within 30 days of license renewal and within 30 days after entering into a supervisory relationship with a physician or changes to the protocol.

Where does the nurse need to send a protocol?

To the Florida Board of Nursing at 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C-02, Tallahassee, Florida 32399

How many Nurse Practitioners can be listed on a protocol?

Only one ARNP can be listed on a protocol.

How many supervising physicians can be listed on a protocol?

A minimum of one physician is required to be listed on a protocol as the primary supervising physician. A back-up physician may be included in the protocol if the ARNP or facility wishes to appoint a secondary physician.

Is a DEA number required for the physician on a protocol?

Yes, all physicians listed in a protocol must include their signature, license number and DEA number.

Are original signatures required on a protocol?

The original of the protocol must be filed with the Department. If the Board office cannot tell if the signatures are original, the protocol will be returned with a request for all signatures to be in blue ink. Blue ink signatures are requested as it is much easier to determine if the signature is original if it is in blue ink.

Does an ARNP have to submit multiple protocols for different physicians that will be supervising them?

No, an ARNP can have one protocol entailing one page that includes the signatures, license numbers and DEA numbers of all the physicians that will be supervising them.

Does the supervising physician that I list on my protocol have to be licensed in Florida?

Yes, the supervising physician that you list on your protocol must be licensed in Florida.

What dates need to be provided on an ARNP protocol?

The date the protocol was created and/or amended, if applicable. When the protocol needs to be amended, a current date must be reflected for that time.

Do ARNPs who work in a federal facility need to submit a protocol to the Florida Board of Nursing?

No, according to the section 464.022(7), F.S., an ARNP who is currently employed by the U.S. government, or any bureau, division or agency thereof does not need to submit a protocol.

I am currently moving to another state, but I want to keep my license active in Florida. Do I still need to submit a protocol?

No, any ARNP who is not currently practicing in Florida does not need to send a protocol, but you will need to submit a Financial Responsibility Form to our Board office and check the corresponding box.

Should a copy of the protocol be kept at the practice site?

Yes, a copy of the original protocol and a copy of the notice required by section 458.348(1), F.S. should be kept at the site of practice of each party of the protocol. After the expiration of the protocol each party is responsible for insuring that a copy of the protocol is maintained for future reference for a period of four (4) years.

How long does it normally take for an ARNP protocol to be accepted by the Florida Board of Nursing?

Please allow 30 days for a protocol to be entered into our database.

How can I check if my ARNP protocol has been accepted by the Florida Board of Nursing?

Once your protocol has been accepted by our Board office, a scanned copy of your protocol will show up as a document in your Practitioner Profile. You will also receive a letter of confirmation stating that it has been entered into our database.

Are the protocols reviewed or approved by the Board of Nursing?

Yes, protocols are reviewed by the Board of Nursing.

Should the protocol state which medications can be prescribed?

Yes, you must list all medications that the supervising physician has agreed you may prescribe. You may want to use generic names and/or categories of medications instead of using trade names, i.e., antibiotics, antiemetics, etc.

Where can I find CE providers?

You can find approved CE providers by visiting www.cebroker.com

I passed the NCLEX in the last year. How many contact hours do I need to renew my license?

Nurses licensed by examination, in any state, during the current renewal period are exempt from continuing education requirements for the first renewal period, with the exception of the required 2 hour course in Prevention of Medical Errors, 2 hour course in Laws and Rules that govern the practice of Nursing (beginning with the biennium ending in 2015), and 1 hour course in HIV/AIDS. This exemption is lost if the license is not renewed by the renewal deadline.

I endorsed in from another state. How many contact hours do I need to renew my license?

Most initial licenses are not valid for the full 2 years. One (1) contact hour is required for each month, or partial month, of the licensure cycle, including two (2) hours on Prevention of Medical Errors and two (2) hours on Laws and Rules that govern the practice of Nursing (beginning with the biennium ending in 2015). HIV/AIDS is now a one-time, 1-hour CE requirement to be completed prior to the first renewal. Domestic Violence (DV) CE is now a 2-hour requirement for every third renewal. For example, if you renew your license on July 31, 2008 and completed DV during the 2006-2008 licensure cycle, you are required to complete the Domestic Violence CE before the July 31, 2014 renewal. Applicants who took the exam during the current renewal cycle should see the FAQ that asks “I passed the NCLEX in the last year. How many contact hours do I need to renew my license?”

How many contact hours do I need for a full biennium?

All Florida-licensed LPNs, RNs, CNSs and ARNPs are now in a 24-month renewal cycle and must complete 24 hours of appropriate continuing education during each renewal period. The 24 hours must include two (2) hours on Prevention of Medical Errors, two (2) hours in Laws and Rules that govern the practice of Nursing, and (2) hours in recognizing impairment in the workplace effective August 1, 2017 and every other biennium thereafter (every 4 years). HIV/AIDS is now a one-time, 1-hour CE requirement to be completed prior to the first renewal. Domestic Violence (DV) CE is now a 2-hour requirement every third renewal (every 6 years). Since Domestic Violence (DV) is a 2-hour requirement, the licensee will have 26 hours of CE during the renewal period when DV is taken.

Can I use college courses for continuing education?

Yes. Contact hours may be awarded for completion of credit courses in nursing at an accredited institution of higher learning. However, general education may not be used for C.E. credit. One college course that meets 3 hours a week for 15 weeks is worth 45 CE hours.

How do college courses convert to contact hours?

One credit hour per quarter converts to ten contact hours. One credit hour per semester converts to fifteen contact hours. In order to receive continuing education credit, retain transcripts or legible dated grade reports for four years in case you are audited.

Can I use hours I have earned in another state?

Continuing education (CE) courses approved by a state or national nursing organization empowered to accredit CE standards can be used, with the exception of HIV/AIDS and Domestic Violence courses, which must be from a Florida-approved provider.

I have earned over 26 hours of continuing education units (CEUs). Can I carry the balance over to the next renewal period?

No, all CEUs must be earned within your renewal period and cannot be carried over to the next biennium. Also, CEs taken prior to the issuance of a permanent license cannot be counted towards renewal requirements.

I have received my renewal notice and have not completed all of my required contact hours. Can I mail my renewal in and complete my hours later?

No. Nurses must complete CE requirements within the appropriate biennium. By sending in your renewal and fee you are affirming that you have complied with all licensure renewal requirements.

How many contact hours can I earn through Home Study?

The Board imposes no limit on the number of contact hours earned through Home Study.

Can nurses take courses that offer Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits?

Only ARNP’s may earn CME. ARNPs may use CME for up to half of the mandatory CE requirements.

How do I become a CE Provider?

Please visit www.CEBroker.com for the application to become a CE provider.

Can I challenge the Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) Examination?

Applicants who have successfully completed courses, equivalent to practical nursing education in a professional nursing program, may qualify for NCLEX-PN based on practical nursing equivalency (PNEQ). All professional courses (RN) taken must have been successfully completed with a grade of “C” or better and must have included theory and clinical instruction.

The professional or practical nursing curriculum must document clinical experience and theoretical instruction in medical, surgical, obstetric, pediatric and geriatric nursing. Each curriculum plan must document clinical training experience in appropriate settings that include, but are not limited to, acute care, long-term care and community settings.

What ORI number do I use to do my Livescan?

LPN/RN Examination applicant – EDOH2550Z

LPN/RN Endorsement applicant – EDOH4420Z

LPN/RN/CNS/ARNP Exemption applicant – EDOH4420Z

ARNP Applicant – EDOH4420Z

How long do I have after I graduate to take the NCLEX examination?

There is no time limit for you to apply to take the examination, however, if an applicant who graduates from an approved program does not take the licensure examination within six (6) months after graduation, he or she must enroll in and successfully complete a board approved licensure examination preparatory course. The applicant is responsible for all costs associated with the course and may not use state or federal financial aid for such costs.

How many continuing education hours are required for licensure renewal?

Licensed Practical Nurses, Registered Nurses, Clinical Nurse Specialists and Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioners are required to complete 24 hours of appropriate CE during each renewal period, including two (2) hours relating to prevention of medical errors and two (2) hours in Laws and Rules in Nursing. In addition to these 24 hours of general CE, every third renewal two (2) hours of domestic violence CE must be completed for a total of 26 hours. See Sections 456.013, 456.031, and 456.033, Florida Statutes, and Rule 64B9-5, Florida Administrative Code (FAC) for more information about continuing education requirements.

A nurse who is certified by a health care specialty program accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies or the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification is exempt from continuing education requirements. This exemption includes general and mandatory nursing continuing education.

How many continuing education hours should be within a nurse’s specialty?

Employers may require completion of agency/facility specific continuing education (CE). If you have questions regarding specific CE for your agency/facility, please speak with your supervisor.

Licensed Practical Nurses, Registered Nurses, Clinical Nurse Specialists and Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioners are required to complete 24 hours of appropriate CE during each renewal period, including two (2) hours relating to prevention of medical errors. In addition to these 24 hours of general CE, every third renewal two (2) hours of domestic violence CE must be completed for a total of 26 hours. See Rule 64B9-5,  Florida Administrative Code (FAC) for more information about continuing education requirements.

What do I need to qualify for the Practical Nurse Equivalency Examination (PNEQ)?

All professional (RN) courses taken must have been successfully completed with a grade of “C” or better and must have included theory and clinical instruction. The professional or practical nursing curriculum must document clinical experience and theoretical instruction in medical, surgical, obstetric, pediatric and geriatric nursing. Each curriculum plan must document clinical training experience in appropriate settings that include, but are not limited to, acute care, long-term care and community settings.
Applicants for PNEQ must have their school submit official transcripts, course descriptions and a completed Practical Nurse Equivalency Application Letter (found in the Examination application).

Can I use my specialty nursing certification to fulfill the continuing education requirements to renew my license?

A nurse who is certified by a health care specialty program accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies or the Accreditation Board for Specialty Nursing Certification is exempt from continuing education requirements.

My license is expiring soon and I did not receive a renewal notice. What should I do?

Renewal notices are now sent out as postcards. You may renew online at www.flhealthsource.gov. Your ID and Password can also be reset at www.flhealthsource.gov or you may call 850-488-0595. Remember, if you wait until the last minute you may run into long wait times.

Can I challenge the Registered Nurse (RN) Examination?

Only graduates from an RN program qualify to take the RN NCLEX.

How long does it take to renew my license?

Renewal postcards are sent at least 90 days before the expiration date. You should renew as soon as possible after receiving your notice. Please allow 1-2 weeks for receipt of your new nursing license. To expedite your renewal you may renew online at www.flhealthsource.gov. Your ID and Password can also be reset at www.flhealthsource.gov or you may call 850-488-0595.

Can I continue to work if I have not received my new license by the expiration date?

Yes, nurses who have proof of current licensure may continue to practice without your new license. You can obtain proof of renewal by renewing online where you are able to print a receipt. This should allow you to continue working, but it is ultimately up to your employer.

How long does it take to be approved for the NCLEX examination?

There is no set timeframe for approval of an application. We process applications in date order received. Applications are processed as quickly as possible, but timeframes vary based on the number of applications received and on the length of time it takes receive all necessary documentation.

Is there a number to call to check on the status of my renewal?

Yes, there is a number you can call. However, you or your employer can verify the status of your renewal by visiting our website at: http://ww2.doh.state.fl.us/IRM00PRAES/PRASLIST.ASP  The less information you put in the search engine the better the search function will work.  You can also call the Communication Services Unit, (850) 488-0595, to verify the status of your license.

What does Graduate Nurse Status mean?

This status allows the holder to practice nursing under the direct supervision of a Registered Nurse if they meet the following qualifications:

  • It has not been more than three months since you have graduated from an approved program
  • You have been authorized by the Board to practice as a graduate nurse or graduate practical nurse and have received a “Graduate Nurse” or “Graduate Practical Nurse” letter
  • You have been authorized to test by the examination vendor

Any applicant who fails to appear for the first examination for which they have been made eligible shall not practice nursing until such time as the applicant passes the NCLEX examination. Only RN applicants by examination who have been approved by the board may use the term “Graduate Nurse” or the abbreviation “G.N.”.  Only PN applicants by examination may use the term Graduate Practical Nurse or the abbreviation “G.P.N.”.  GN and GPN statuses expire at the date listed on the Graduate Nurse letter or when the applicant takes the examination, whichever comes first.

Why is continuing education being verified at renewal?

Continuing Education is a requirement to renew a professional license. Section 456.025(7), F.S. requires the Department to implement an electronic continuing education tracking system for each biennial renewal cycle and to integrate such system into the licensure and renewal system.  The two systems are now integrated.

Can I work as a Graduate Nurse (GN) or a Graduate Practical Nurse (GPN) while I am waiting for approval?

No. You can only work as a GN or GPN if you have received approval from the board.

What will happen if I do not have the required continuing education for renewal?

The Department of Health, Medical Quality Assurance will verify a practitioner’s continuing education record in the electronic tracking system at the time of renewal.  Practitioners will be able to view their course history in the continuing education tracking system free of charge.  The course history will show all the courses that have been reported for the practitioner.

If the practitioner’s continuing education records are not complete, they will be prompted to enter their remaining continuing education hours before proceeding with their license renewal. If the practitioner does not have the hours to report, the license will move to a delinquent status at expiration.  In order to renew a delinquent license , the practitioner will be required to complete the continuing education requirements.  Additional fees may apply.

When will I get the Authorization to Test (ATT)?

Once the board makes you eligible to take the examination your approval will be transferred to Pearson VUE, the examination vendor, via electronic transfer within 2 business days. Pearson VUE will email the Authorization to Test (ATT) if you provided an email address to their office or mail it to you if you did not provide an email address.

Do I have to wait until license renewal to report my continuing education credits to the electronic tracking system?

No, you can report your hours free of charge anytime during the biennium by registering for the Free Basic Account.  The Department encourages you to report early to avoid a delay in the license renewal process.  For more information please visit www.CEatRenewal.com.

 

Please note, if you take a course from a Florida Board approved Provider they are required to report on your behalf.  If you take a course from a National organization it is your responsibility to report completion.

Where can I take the NCLEX examination?

NCLEX testing takes place at Pearson VUE centers. Pearson VUE will provide you with information about the available test centers. You may schedule an appointment for any center. You do not have to take the NCLEX in the same jurisdiction in which you are seeking licensure.

Does the continuing education provider report my completed continuing education units?

If you take a course from a Florida Board approved Provider, they are required to report on your behalf.  If you take a course from a National organization, it is your responsibility to report completion.

How often is the NCLEX given?

Testing is available at Pearson VUE centers 15 hours a day/six days a week.  Exams are not offered on Sundays and holidays. Testing availability is subject to change.

How long do I have, after I am approved, to actually take the NCLEX?

The Authorization to Test (ATT) is valid for 90 days. The ATT contains your test authorization number, candidate identification number, and an expiration date. This date cannot be extended for any reason. Test centers may fill up quickly, waiting to schedule your testing appointment may significantly limit dates the center can seat you. If you wait until your ATT is close to expiring, Pearson VUE may not be able to seat you prior to its expiration. If this occurs, you will be required to re-register and re-pay to take the examination.

Is there a limit on how many times I can take the NCLEX?

Yes. After three failures of the same level of examination (RN or LPN), regardless of jurisdiction, the applicant must successfully complete a Florida Board of Nursing approved remedial course. The course includes classroom and clinical components and proof of completion must be submitted directly from the course provider prior to approval for taking the exam the fourth time.

 

What should I do if I fail the exam?

Reapply by submitting a re-examination application, with a retake fee. You will also have to reapply with Pearson VUE (the testing vendor) and pay a non-refundable fee of $200.00. You can find more information at: http://floridasnursing.gov/applications/lpn-rn-reexam-app.pdf

If I fail the exam, how long do I have to wait to retake it?

You must wait a minimum of 45 days between each examination.

Can I submit one payment to cover the application and testing fees?

No, you will need to send in one money order or cashier’s check for the application fee and another to Pearson VUE for the NCLEX testing fee. These fees are mailed to two different places. Please see the application (Examination or Re-examination) for more information

I missed my scheduled examination date. What should I do?

If you either fail to arrive, fail to reschedule, or cancel your NCLEX appointment without giving three business days’ notice to Pearson VUE where you are scheduled, you will forfeit your examination fee and your Authorization to Test will be invalidated. In order to take the NCLEX, you will need to reapply to Pearson VUE and pay the fees again. GN/GPN status is lost when you fail to take your scheduled examination.

Can I change my application from examination to endorsement or from endorsement to examination?

Yes, but you must request a change in the status of the application in writing to the board office. The request for the change will not be granted if the application has already been approved.

What should I do if my name changes after I apply, but before I am licensed?

Name changes require legal documentation showing the name change. Please submit a request which includes your full name, as it appears on your application; the profession you are applying for; your applicant ID number; your new name; your date of birth; the last four digits of your social security number; and your signature. You must also submit supporting documents, which must be one of the following:

  • a copy of a state issued marriage license that includes the signature and seal from the clerk of the court
  • a divorce decree restoring your maiden name
  • a court order showing the name change (adoption, legal name change, federal identity change)
  • a copy of your social security card and drivers’ license showing the new name

How can I find out if I passed the NCLEX?

Please log into the MQA Online Services System to check your NCLEX results: Login Here

Is there any other way to find out if I passed the NCLEX?

You can determine if you have been issued a license number on our website, after testing, by visiting the Health Provider Lookup Screen. License numbers are generally issued within 1-3 business days after successfully passing the NCLEX examination. License numbers are not available on the same day you take the examination.

When will I receive my license?

Your license will be sent to the address on file, 7-10 business days after the board office receives notification you passed the examination.